The Grind

Something is stuck in my wheels as I am slowly grinding through the past few weeks.  It is like a car with a bad transmission or clutch; the gears are slipping and jumping.   Eagerly trying to turn my wheels to figure things out with others and myself has been very challenging.  I cannot explain some of the intense feelings within me.  I have wrongly lashed out at those that walked the same path to have a family and I have no idea why.  Guesses would only serve a temporary application with no resolve, so I am not going to try to explain.  Apologizes were made but somehow seem inadequate to fully and sincerely convey to them what their friendship, love and support has meant since I have come to know them.

This blog has been a source of frustration lately.  Recently, someone has even quoted to me, “the road to hell is always paved with good intentions.”  My good intentions with this blog are:

  1. public awareness of infertility;
  2. public awareness of New Blossoms New Life Foundation;
  3. allow me to vent and to try to make sense of our journey toward parenthood ; and
  4. perhaps to allow others to relate and to let them know that they are not alone

I cut open my thoughts and feelings until they bled out into the blog.  You could say that I am working to get out the gunk stuck in my wheels to try to move forward and be a better person, wife, and friend.

I would like to believe with my blog that I can write what I want and feel, because it is our journey, and no one else’s.   Found it incomprehensible when a few criticize my feelings or our journey, saying I should feel or think this and that I should not feel or should not think that way.  Along with that, I should be accepting of others journeys’ and take in account their feelings.   I get it, but we can agree to disagree that some people think one way and others think another.  Yes, I now acknowledge and understand that my words have hurt the feelings of others in how I have expressed them.  Yes, I have learned to express myself without directly quoting or personally calling out others.  It has not made me feel better to do so nor resolve anything.

I am my father’s daughter and I love and hate it at the same time.  I was raised to be strong, assertive with a “take no shit” attitude.  I have always prided myself for speaking my mind, real or even raw to a fault.  It comes with a heavy price at most times as I find myself cringing afterwards because I tactlessly hurt someone’s feelings.  It is an uncanny ability to piss people off when I do not have a filter in place to soften the message.  Reacting with emotions rather than thoughts always gets me into hot water no matter how hard I have tried.  Really, I do try.  I get it… I lack a BIG filter.  I have been trying to apply it my entire life, adding layer after layer trying to find the right fit, but not quite enough coverage just yet. I would like to think that I’m work in progress.

My new clients with older and well lived in homes are always told that their house is like a piece of paper that has become crumpled with use over time.  And no matter how much we try to smooth it out, it will still have the lines on it.  I suppose the same is true with apologies, no matter the intentions, I cannot undo any hurt but I can try to keep it clean in the future.

About SwtSun

Little Boots Mom
This entry was posted in Friendship, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment